So here it is, our zig-zag route across Scotland and northern England for our August 2015 John O’Groats to Land’s End bike ride. Of course, this is a draft route plan, there may be some minor changes, but for the most part the start and end locations are already fixed. Do keep checking back to this page and our Twitter feed for updates on routes.

Our cycle ride from John O’Groats to Land’s End will see us take in about 1250 miles over 19 days of riding, no mean feat to keep energy levels up day-after-day.

Don’t forget, if you want to get involved and cycle with us you are most welcome, be that for a hour, half-day or a full days cycling. All we ask is you bring your own bike and cycle helmet! Ride with us for fun, or maybe create your own 50-mile sponsored bike ride as part of our tour. Or maybe fundraise over two-days, perhaps a coast-to-coast from Whitely Bay to Liverpool for example. Anybody fundraising for us will be given OCD-UK cycle jersey’s and our support van can carry luggage from your start to end point (provided on our route).

For those that are not able to cycle, then some evenings we will be around to meet for an informal drink and chat, just click the route link for more information (these will be updated nearer August).

Route (click links to view route maps) Miles Climb (ft)
Day 1 Monday 10th August John o Groats to Thurso 33.5 1549
via Dunnet Head
Day 2 Tuesday 11th August Thurso to Durness 70.8 5245
via Tongue
Day 3 Wednesday 12th August Durness to Ullapool 67.6 4980
along A835
Day 4 Thursday 13th August Ullapool to Inverness 57.2 2440
 
Day 5 Friday 14th August Inverness to Newtonmore 63.7 5393
possibly via Aviemore
Day 6 Saturday 15th August Newtonmore to Perth 69.3 2410
via Pitlochry
Day 7 Sunday 16th August Perth to Dunbar 82.6 3475
via Edinburgh  
Day 8 Monday 17th August Dunbar to Holy Island 43.8 1953
via Eyemouth and Berwick
Day 9 Tuesday 18th August Holy Island to Whitley Bay 70.6 2437
via Alnwick
Day 10 Wednesday 19th August Whitley Bay to Richmond 74.6 4652
 
Day 11 Thursday 20th August Richmond to Malham 62.4 5109
through Yorkshire Dales
Day 12 Friday 21st August Malham to Liverpool 72.5 2324

Day 12 Sponsored By:
Charles Mills on behalf of Formby Cricket Club.

Day 13 Saturday 22nd August Liverpool to Welshpool 76.4 2883
via Runcorn and Wrexham
Day 14 Sunday 23rd August Welshpool to Crickhowell 67.6 4387
via Newtown
Day 15 Monday 24th August Crickhowell to Chew Valley 76.1 3777
possibly via Abergavenny and Bristol
Day 16 Tuesday 25th August Chew Calley to Lynmouth 67.2 3775
via Cheddar Gorge, Bridgwater and Minehead
Day 17 Wednesday 26th August Lynmouth to Bude 65 4420
via Bideford
Day 18 Thursday 27th August Bude to Truro 63.8 5111
via Bodmin
Day 19 Friday 28th August Truro to Land’s End 46.3 3217
via Penzance
Total Miles/Climb 1228.7 68973